Disaster in His Wake

The Making of Horatio Evans

Ardent communist, defender of the proletariat, and bin man, Horatio is convinced he has a calling to transform the village of Abertump and wake it from its sleep. Self-appointed leader of men, his confidence knows no bounds, even when disaster stares him in the face.

From school expulsion to army court martial, he seems destined to confront authority. His desire to go his own way leads to some DIY disasters as he sets up his own Kremlin in his tiny terraced house. Using cast-offs from the village and sand from the beach, his lean-to quickly becomes a dangerous lean-over. His problem-solving skills also leave much to be desired, as he cuts a wardrobe in half to move it upstairs, and fits a new fireplace while the old one is still alight.

Follow Horatio’s exploits and spare a thought for Gladys, his permanently-on-the-verge-of-death wife.

SKU twi_9781912056408 Categories , , ,
(11 customer reviews)

£3.99£7.99

Standard UK delivery 5-7 days

Description

The Making of Horatio Evans

Ardent communist, defender of the proletariat, and bin man, Horatio is convinced he has a calling to transform the village of Abertump and wake it from its sleep. Self-appointed leader of men, his confidence knows no bounds, even when disaster stares him in the face.

From school expulsion to army court martial, he seems destined to confront authority. His desire to go his own way leads to some DIY disasters as he sets up his own Kremlin in his tiny terraced house. Using cast-offs from the village and sand from the beach, his lean-to quickly becomes a dangerous lean-over. His problem-solving skills also leave much to be desired, as he cuts a wardrobe in half to move it upstairs, and fits a new fireplace while the old one is still alight.

Follow Horatio’s exploits and spare a thought for Gladys, his permanently-on-the-verge-of-death wife.

Additional information

Weight N/A
Pages

192

Imprint

Wordcatcher Publishing

MainBISAC

HUMOR / Topic / Politics

PubDate

20170310

Series

The Strange Life of Horatio Evans

BySameAuthor

9781912056415, 9781912056439, 9781912056422

11 reviews for Disaster in His Wake

  1. Alun

    Having read about Horatio’s adventures I can’t wait for the next one! For anyone looking for a laugh out loud book, this is exactly the one for you. If you like your humour in the vein of Stella or Gavin and Stacey, this is typical humour of the Welsh valleys and a brilliant read. Long may the chronicles continue!

  2. Eira Probert

    I thought this book was brilliantly written and Horatio’s exploits were hilarious. Very clever humour and a great laugh. I can’t wait to read more about the lovely town of Abertump and what Horatio gets up to next!

  3. Zena

    It may be part fiction but some of these characters actually existed amongst people I have known; the humour is typically Welsh and all the scenarios in their own complete little chapters are brilliant. I could definitely relate to a lot of the situations in this book which is very well written and observed by the narrator. It has a lovely happy ending in the last chapter, I love happy endings. Hope there is more to come!

  4. Laura Hollier

    It seems Cardiff has a knack for creating excellent storytellers. First Ronald Dahl, and now Ray Noyes. It’s easy to get inside the mind of the hilarious Horatio Evans, and to be amused by his futile attempts to shake things up in Abertump.

  5. Kath Long

    I was gripped right from the first page and laughed all the way through the book. Our hero, Horatio, masterminds DIY projects which fail spectacularly and which the author relates with vivid humour. I had to ration my reading in order to make the book last longer! I can’t wait to see what Horatio gets up to next. Welsh humour at its best!

  6. Glenvyn

    Brilliantly funny little book, praise indeed for and Englishman!

  7. Delith

    There is a danger that, even after having finished this book, and finished laughing for the nth time, you might burst out laughing again, uncontrollably, if you think back to the antics of dear ol’ Horatio. This is a warm-hearted and somewhat affectionate little fiction, which stirs one to wonder, amongst the laugh-out-loud exploits of the hero, if there is, actually, a very tiny element of truth buried deep in the humour. Marvellous! You will not be disappointed.

  8. R Pritchard

    What an attractive and amusing collection of tales of Horatio ap Llewelyn’s exploits! although these stories are set in the South Wales valleys, I’m sure that you, like me, will easily recognise many of the characters whom he tries (but fails) to persuade to his left wing ways of thinking, and his self delusion and misguided determination to avoid paying for anything. Horatio was (and perhaps still is – he was born appropriately on a bin-collection day in 1939 and he might still be around) a true recycler, long before it became fashionable. For your sanity and enjoyment, read this book.

  9. Amazon Customer

    A very funny must read. Can’t wait for book number 2!

  10. Amazon Customer

    There is a danger that, even after having finished this hilarious book, and finished laughing for the nth time, you might burst out laughing again, uncontrollably, if you just happen to think back to the antics of dear ol’ Horatio. This is a warm hearted and somewhat affectionate little fiction, which stirs one to wonder, amongst the laugh-out-loud exploits of the hero, if there is, actually, a very tiny element of truth buried deep in the humour. Marvellous! You will not be disappointed.

  11. Kath Long

    Couldn’t stop laughing!
    Great book, very funny and I loved it! Horatio’s well-meant but disastrous home improvement ventures are graphically and amusingly detailed, whetting my appetite for the next instalment. Great Welsh humour!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: